

## PRESS RELEASE

## Council of Irish Sign Language Interpreters established, 8<sup>th</sup> May 2011

New national Irish Sign Language Interpreting council formed at historic meeting in Limerick

For the first time since 2007, Ireland has a new national representative association representing Irish Sign Language interpreters. The **Council of Irish Sign Language Interpreters (CISLI)** had its debut meeting on Sunday in Limerick's Deaf Community Centre, where interpreters from all over the country gathered to usher in a new era for the profession. The Council's Steering Committee has worked extremely hard since last November in preparing for the new organisation. All 24 attendees resoundingly approved this work as a basis for going forward.

The organisation, with a new Mission Statement, Constitution and Code of Ethics, will seek to place interpreters themselves firmly back at the centre of decisions made about sign language interpreting in Ireland – in full partnership with the Deaf community. "We believe the proposed organisational structure is the best way forward for us to embark on together," said Chairperson Caroline O'Leary. "It is time for the Deaf and interpreting communities to initiate governance of ISL interpreting matters in Ireland. We are the service users and providers, and together we can and will pool our expertise to become the professional consultants in ISL interpreting matters."

A new Committee has been formed, including Chairperson Caroline O'Leary, of the initial Steering Committee; Vice-Chairperson, Frankie Berry; Secretary, Cormac Leonard; Treasurer, Darren Byrne; Student Representative, Sarah Sheridan; and Irish Deaf Society representatives, John Fennell and Wendy Murray. For more information, please contact <a href="mailto:cisil.ireland@gmail.com">cisil.ireland@gmail.com</a>.



The new members of CISLI. Left to right: Cormac Leonard (Secretary), Ray Greene, Tracey Daly, Ali Stewart, Frankie Berry (Vice-Chairperson), Debra McCabe, Mary Stringer, John Fennell (IDS Representative), Lisa Dunne, Helena Saunders, Caroline O'Leary (Chairperson), Eddie Redmond (IDS Representative and Facilitator), Darren Byrne (Treasurer), Evelyn Nolan-Conroy (Steering Committee), Jeanette Simms, Sarah Sheridan (Student Representative), Suzanne Carey, Wendy Murray (IDS Representative), Mary Guest, Christine Green, Jennifer Hubbard (Steering Committee), Mary Dermody (Steering Committee), Mairead Hegarty.